The Cannibals of Galway

At the risk of sensationalising this blog beyond the bounds of credibility – if I ever had any in the first place – this sign was too good to miss. It’s behind a hot-food counter in a supermarket in Galway. Readers of a nervous disposition are advised to look away quickly, before their eyes are drawn to the blood-red sign now only centimetres away…

*

Stan Carey - cooked hand sign in Dunnes Stores

*

If you are deeply disturbed by the sinister implications, both corporate and gustatory, imagine my shock as I reeled out of the supermarket, my mind awhirl with the grisliest of possibilities, only to come upon this terrible scene at the docks, mere minutes away (click to enlarge):

*

Stan Carey - skulls in boat in The Docks, Galway

*

If I had any doubt, after seeing the contents of the boat, that something gruesome and unspeakable was afoot, it was dispelled by those dark threatening clouds. Even as the sun sparkled on the water in the port, the ominous shapes overhead portended doom and dread. But what does it all mean? Where is Nancy Drew when you need her? And what’s that strange scratching noise coming from next door?

15 Responses to The Cannibals of Galway

  1. paramountplaces says:

    nice , best of luck .

  2. Apparitions in Limerick, cannibals in Galway: just what is happening in the West?

  3. Stan says:

    paramountplaces: Thank you.

    Doubtful: I attribute the strange goings-on in general to the Kali Yuga, and the cannibalism in particular to our ferocious appetite here in the West. But these are just wild guesses.

  4. Sean Jeating says:

    … not to speak of a giant wasp terrorising a small village in the southeast, D.E., hm?
    Thanks for clarifying why the Hand of Ulster is so bloody red, Stan.

  5. herself says:

    all it reminds me of is “have gun will travel” but then I’m showing my age…. and it’s all in the punctuation (or lack)

  6. Stan says:

    Sean: Ah yes, the giant wasp incident introduces a whole other level of improbable probabilities. Deduction alone will not solve this.

    Herself: Do you mean the TV show? I’m afraid I never saw it, but the phrase seems to have had lasting currency. And yes, it’s all in the punctuation, though an extra word or two would not go amiss in the scary supermarket sign.

  7. Claudia says:

    Your village could also do with a sagacious Miss Marple. The worst of that story is that you cannot even anymore express your fears and discombobulation with a few well-chosen, scacrilegious expletives. The law would punish you long before it would catch the gruesome murderers (if any).

    I wish you health, long life and a safe old age in your preternatural environment.

  8. Claudia says:

    Sorry: One C too much…Sacrilegious. Be brave and holy in Green Ireland even when sinful, scary red invades it.:)

  9. Stan says:

    Claudia: I must confess I have never met Miss Marple, in or out of a book, but I have heard of her exploits and am convinced of her sagacity and its hypothetical usefulness in helping me unscramble this mystery. Thank you for the lovely wishes; may you have more of the same, with some Irish luck on top. As to red invading green, I grew up in Mayo, whose county flag looks like this, so the clash of these colours is too familiar to trouble me.

  10. Claudia says:

    Thanks for the links. Mayo seems to be a colourful place. I’m very fond of all the different Miss Marple I meet on British TV. And Agatha Christie is a fine, pleasant writer whom I could read without using the dictionary. In my maturity, I particularly approve of what she said once: “Young people think that old people are fools. Old people know that young people are fools.” Let’s see what Irich luck does to me. I’ll let you know if it’s exciting!

  11. Claudia says:

    It’s Irish, of course. I wonder if Agatha ever said anything about young and old fingers typing away….

  12. Sean Jeating says:

    … and never one ought to forget that it is Mr Stringer who – taking the Doctor Watson part – let#s Miss Marple look such brilliant.
    Stan, and you did not even watch any Miss Marple film with the legendary Margaret Rutherford?
    Ah, and Claudi: Have you tried Dorothy Sayers? Her Lord Peter Whimsey has a class of his own, too.

    Well, and as for Mayo: Mentioning it makes me feel … that before beginning to wax lyrical here I should abruptly stop.

  13. Claudia says:

    Sean,
    I’ve been in love with Lord Wimsey (and his beaked nose) for years. Walking on his Aubusson carpet, and taking rides in his Daimler are dreams of mine. And he is brilliant! That’s why I’ve been so hard on the regular fellows around me. They didn’t stand a chance….

  14. Sean Jeating says:

    Gosh, indeed. Lord Peter (Wimsey) was / is brilliant.
    And now, having taken an ‘h’ from him, I won’t miss the chance to add an ‘a’ to Claudi.

  15. Stan says:

    Claudia: An interesting typo: Irich strongly hints at the type of luck you will experience! We shall see. I have always meant to read Agatha Christie, and I don’t quite know how I’ve managed to avoid doing so.

    Stan, and you did not even watch any Miss Marple film with the legendary Margaret Rutherford?

    Sean: Sadly I have not; there are great gaps in my pop cultural education. As far as detective books go, Sherlock Holmes went down well, Fr Brown less so, Philip Marlowe, Sam Spade and their hard-boiled ilk better again. But some day I will have to redress the unintended sexism of my detective reading. And on another note, I must ask you about your Mayo experience. Maybe by email.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,436 other followers