Link love: language (13)

Latin tattoos.

Poem: To A Thesaurus.

Badgergasm” (analysed).

Ireland, the emerald desert.

Ultrasonic songs of male mice.

Language as a secret weapon.

Taking abstract thoughts literally.

Proverbs and sayings of the Isle of Man.

The secret history of typography in the OED.

How “dord” accidentally entered a dictionary.

When exclamation marks disappeared from Marvel comics!

The evolution of speech: a comparative review (PDF, 632 KB).

The Linguistic Niche Hypothesis: summary, full report, discussion.

“Sarah Palin and her elk“, and eggcorns of this ilk (via Fritinancy).

[more links]
7 Responses to Link love: language (13)

  1. Fran says:

    Thanks for these. I loved the poem to a thesaurus. That’s going to be a great one to give the kids so they can investigate synonyms and their etymologies. Fab.

  2. Stan says:

    You’re welcome, Fran. I hope your students find the poem helpful, instructive, worthwhile, useful, productive and beneficial.

  3. Stan says:

    Some day I will have to get the hang of Latin, Sean! In the meantime I’m satisfied to dip my toe in, now and then.

  4. wisewebwoman says:

    OMG I thought I’d die laughing at the emerald desert, just fantastic!!
    I will peruse the rest later when time permits. Thanks for the LOL, Stsn.
    XO
    WWW

  5. Claudia says:

    The poem is fun. Mais Monsieur Boileau dirait:

    Un seul mot
    Je vous en prie
    Un seul mot
    Cela suffit.

    As usual, very interesting. Now that I’ve seen the map of Ireland, I’ll stay safely home. I hope that you’re keeping well and alive. All the best. À ta santé, cher ami!

  6. Stan says:

    WWW: I’m glad you got a kick out of it! The map made me crack up too, in spite of the ould rheumatism.

    Claudia: Et à la vôtre, mon amie! I am keeping very well and quite alive, despite what the map might suggest. Bien sûr, le thésaurus ne devrait pas remplacer le travail d’une imagination qui pourrait trouver le mot juste — mais Roget’s a sa propre utilité, surtout pour les apprentis.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,849 other followers