A contradictory undertaking

.

Will this lead to a state of limbo?

11 Responses to A contradictory undertaking

  1. They will need to update, methinks. Didn’t the Catholic church abolish limbo?

  2. Stan says:

    I think they have updated it, Jams. It’s not a recent photo, just one I stumbled on while tidying failing to tidy the archives. Yes, the Catholic church effectively dropped the idea of limbo in 2007.

  3. wisewebwoman says:

    Personally, when I’m dead (now and again) I find it very challenging to sort out the entrances and the exits with Gabriel doing all that tooting and Peter yelling around those blingy gates and that attractive Satan beckoning me over……
    XO
    WWW

  4. Jonathan says:

    Will it lead to a state of limbo? Only if the bar is set low enough! (I’ll get my coat…)

  5. Stan says:

    Mise: The hell it does!

    WWW: I think we’re encouraged to treat it like a solemn game of morals, and I don’t believe that’s a good approach. For one thing, Satan has all the best tunes.

    Jonathan: Ha ha. I for one am relieved that we don’t have to limbo our way out of Limbo.

  6. Val Erde says:

    I half expect to see a postbox there…

  7. Stan says:

    Val: Maybe there is one just out of view.

  8. lynneguist says:

    Great photo!

    I must come and do a tour of Irish funeral homes some day…preferably without the occasion of the death of anyone I know. Having been raised in an Irish-American one (and finding the UK ones SOOOOO different), I’d be fascinated…

  9. Stan says:

    Thanks, Lynne! It would be a fascinating tour, I’m sure. Do you know Thomas Lynch, the poet and undertaker? He has written a couple of interesting books of essays on the trade: The Undertaking: Life Studies from the Dismal Trade and Bodies in Motion and at Rest.

  10. lynneguist says:

    Yes, I’ve read The Undertaking and some of his other work, and seen a couple of television documentaries about him. My family, it must be said, seems to be less reflective about the trade (and its effects on the rest of one’s life) than I like to be, and faaaaaaaar less than Lynch!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,095 other followers