Link love: language (30)

It’s a busy week here, too busy to write a texty blog post. So instead, here’s a round-up of recent language-related links for your reading and viewing pleasure:

Which language is the oldest?
The phonetics of tsk, ugh, meh.
How the ghost word dord slipped into the dictionary.
A new lease of life for deather.
Indigenous tweets in minority languages.
Telephone terminology in AmE & BrE.
The rise of “logical punctuation”.
Vocabulary challenge.
Boswell’s Scottish dictionary: the rediscovered manuscript.
Is figurative lame politically incorrect?
On language nerds and nags.
The Tower of Babel in Buenos Aires.
The case for cursive handwriting.
Pleas for plain language can get you proposed to.
Liquid typography.
When kinetic means “kill people and break things”.
The language of weddings.
What Jay Rosen thinks he knows about journalism.
Epic list of corrections.
The Big O: and rhetorical register.
An etymologist looks at habits and customs.
Climate change and language change in the Marshall Islands.

[previously]
6 Responses to Link love: language (30)

  1. Claude says:

    How I miss handwritten letters! I have such a collection of friends’letters, written over many years, from various locations. Many of my friends are gone now. But their interesting, beautifully written letters are still with me, each one a testimony of their rich personality, refined taste and unique lifestyle.

    Alas! My few remaining friends have adopted email communications.I miss seeing letters in my mailbox. I miss not having anyone anymore to write to with my fountain pen and vellum ivory paper.

    I don’t speak the same language on a typewriter. The Yesterday Claude is gone forever.

  2. Stan says:

    It is a loss, Claude. Not just the tactile and aesthetic pleasure of holding a letter and seeing someone’s unique handwriting, but the fact that they wrote it at all. It’s a very different sort of writing, with (generally I think) a lot less editing and rewriting involved. Now and then I write someone a short note, usually to accompany a homemade card or bookmark, but the days of long rambling letters seem well and truly over. Like you, I keep and treasure the letters I’ve received. They bring back the past in ways that email archives etc. don’t and can’t do.

  3. Carving in stone, anyone? Wax tablets?

  4. Stan says:

    Carving in stone remains popular, though much of it takes the form of initials and crude anatomical etchings.

  5. John Cowan says:

    Ah, how I miss the old days when I used to bang out letters to my friends on my manual typewriter, the smell of corflu in the morning ….

    No, wait. Actually I don’t miss them a bit. Or as some pipsqueak back in the 90s said about the 60s: “Are you kidding? No PCs? No ATMs? No VCRs?”

  6. Stan says:

    It’s not a question of trading one for the other – more a pity that email so thoroughly replaced letter-writing. (That includes my own conversion.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,663 other followers