Jumbling, tumbling

Between this blog and other active online haunts, I’ve been spreading my internet self a bit thin. But I’m a glutton for punishment, so I’ve started a Tumblr blog, provisionally titled Books & bits asthore.* So far it’s an erratic series of book excerpts, poems, and images from films.

Sentence first has been nominated in Macmillan Dictionary’s inaugural Love English Awards. You can vote for it, or for another language blog, on this page until 31 January. My expectations are non-existent, but I’m honoured to be in such great company, and I found a few new websites to explore. (Disclosure: I write for Macmillan Dictionary Blog.)

It’s a mild and sunny December day in the west of Ireland — Pseudocember, I’ve been calling it — and this is likely to be my last post before 2012. Thank you for your visits, comments, and innumerable kindnesses all year, and have a happy and peaceful Christmas.

moss on a wall in county Galway this morning

* I wrote about the Irish English word asthore here.

6 Responses to Jumbling, tumbling

  1. Wishing you a very Happy Christmas. I always enjoy checking out your blog posts. Good luck with the Tumblr.

  2. Claude says:

    Meilleurs voeux pour Noël et le Nouvel An. Merci pour ta gentillesse et tout ce que j’apprends lors de mes visites. J’aime beaucoup ta photo. Nous n’avons pas de neige ici non plus. Les gens se plaignent! À mon âge, j’aime beaucoup mieux une saison verte que blanche! À ta santé, cher Stan!

  3. Here’s wishing you a very happy Xmas Stan. I look forward to more fascinating posts in the New Year

  4. wisewebwoman says:

    Here’s to all that is good and bright and content in the year ahead for you Stan. Your blog is one of the highlights of my reading pleasures.
    XO
    WWW

  5. wisewebwoman says:

    PS Just voted…..
    XO
    WWW

  6. Stan says:

    Just Add Attitude: Many happy returns, and thank you very much. Tumblr will allow me more general book-love-sharing than I could accommodate here.

    Claude: Thank you for your good wishes, and for the stories and poetry that have so enriched our chats on these pages. I haven’t heard anyone in Ireland complaining about the lack of snow; instead there is bemusement at how mild the season has been. The vigorous wind and rain, however, have brought their own atmosphere.

    Jams: Thanks — it has been a fun and relaxing break. Here’s to another year of beauty and excellence at The Poor Mouth!

    WWW: Thanks very much, and I wish the same for you. I hope 2012 brings peace and pleasure to your corner of Canada. (And thank you for voting! x)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 10,038 other followers