Bab.la top language lovers

Language portal bab.la is holding its annual competition of top language lovers, and Sentence first is honoured to appear in the Language Professionals category.

Click the image below to see the 100 shortlisted (if that’s not an oxymoron) and vote for Sentence first or another blog of your choice:

Vote the Top 100 Language Professional Blogs 2013

My Twitter page (@StanCarey) was also selected, so if you’re feeling generous you can vote for me here:

Vote the Top 100 Language Twitterer 2013

Though I placed respectably last year (see the badges in the sidebar), my expectations in these contests are modest; tireless self-promotion is not my strong point. But they’re a good way to find new language writers, and they’re also an opportunity to welcome new visitors.

Finally, if you’re in a voting or browsing kind of mood, there are also polls for Facebook pages and language-learning blogs. The latter includes Macmillan Dictionary Blog, to which I contribute regular posts.

3 Responses to Bab.la top language lovers

  1. John Cowan says:

    I voted for you and for John Wells, though he has now ceased to update his blog. I wonder why LL and LH are not listed, though!

  2. Stan says:

    John: Thank you very much. LL is included in the Language Learning category, and got a vote from me (as did John Wells). I don’t know why LH isn’t featured. The selection and categorisation are a mystery to me.

    Stuart: Thanks a lot; I appreciate that. As I said to John, L. Log appears in the Language Learning list, though it seems to me more of a linguistics-learning blog (among other things).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,056 other followers