Bookmash no. 21: Not Scared

My new bookmash is more a story fragment than a found poem. But the format remains the same.

*

Not Scared

I am Mary Dunne,
Rosemary’s baby.
The fifth child, Liza,
Earthbound the beginning of spring –
Almost there, in other words.

I’m not scared.

(All names have been changed.)

*

(click to enlarge)

stan carey - bookmash book spine story - not scared

*

Thank you to the authors: Brian Moore, Ira Levin, Doris Lessing, Ivan Turgenev, Richard Matheson, Penelope Fitzgerald, Nuala O’Faolain, C.J. Moore, Niccolò Ammaniti, and Claire Kilroy; and to Nina Katchadourian for the idea.

Bookmashes are great fun to make, so feel free to add one to the thread below or let me know if you post one elsewhere. They work best with a photo, but it’s not essential. There are lots more in the bookmash archive, including links to other people’s.

7 Responses to Bookmash no. 21: Not Scared

  1. laumerritt says:

    I love the idea. I should try to do one. Though I have books in several languages. Are multi-lingual bookmashes acceptable?

  2. Alina Cincan says:

    Ok, my first ever attempt, so please don’t be too harsh:

    1984, the year of big dreams.
    It started with a kiss and the mountains echoed.
    All that is long lost now.
    Dead ever after.

    Authors: George Orwell, Karen McCombie, Miranda Dickinson, Khaled Hosseini, James Salter, Linda Castillo, Morris Gleitzman, Charlaine Harris

  3. Stan says:

    Laura: There are no rules to this; we do as we like. Multilingual bookmashes are absolutely acceptable.

    Alina: That’s great! It works both as poem and as narrative. Thanks for joining in. (I have Anthony Burgess’s 1985 if you want to borrow it for a sequel…)

  4. Alina Cincan says:

    Thanks for the feedback, Stan! It would be a bit difficult to lend me ‘1985’ since you are in Ireland. I haven’t read it yet, is it worth it? If yes, I’ll have a look on the Internet to see where I can get it from.

  5. Stan says:

    Alina: Sorry, I meant you could borrow it virtually, if you wanted to use its title for another bookmash. (I initially had borrow in inverted commas, but that spoiled the tone somehow.) As for the book itself: much as I like Burgess, I can’t really recommend it.

  6. What a great idea, found your blog by chance, enjoyed the poem, then realised what a book mash was. Can’t wait to get my books out of storage and try it!

  7. Stan says:

    Deb: Thanks for your visit and for saying hello. Bookmashing is a lot of fun, and it’s also a good excuse to sift through one’s books again!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,124 other followers