Spamwatch

This week I received a comment saying “Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.” May the gods forgive me, but something about the message didn’t quite ring true. Indeed, it was so lacking in even the slightest flavour of human personality that I doubted it would pass the Turing test.

But surely its writer took the time and made the effort out of a genuine sense of global community, a willingness to connect with humanity for its greater good and for its ongoing integration and moral development. Or at least just to say hello and mean it.

Yet for all my attempts to give him or her the benefit of the doubt, I had a niggling suspicion that my visitor was, well, a lying spammer. A quick search on Google revealed a plethora of identical messages strewn across blogs everywhere, from New York to Tokyo, from the South Pacific to a place called Planet Cazmo. The commenter’s own URLs were similarly diverse, and linked to all sorts of commercial enterprises of uncertain repute.

Something tells me this poor misguided spammer isn’t getting the most out of life.

7 Responses to Spamwatch

  1. Sean Jeating says:

    I’d like to sponsor your excellent blog. All I need is your bank account number and the very PIN.

    Ha ha ha ha …

  2. Stan says:

    I appreciate your kind offer, Mr. Jeating – if that is in fact your real name – but even if you sat on the board of the European Central Bank I would still decline your sponsorship.

    Make that especially if you sat on the board of the bank.

  3. Sean Jeating says:

    Those spammers are a pest, aren’t they, Stan?

  4. You made some good points there. I did a search on the topic and found most people will agree with your blog. Thanks for the entertainment. Do you mind if I ask for your email address?

    sry i just know how to write my name in arabic :)) anyway however my english not that good but i think i get the point. thanks

  5. Stan says:

    Sean: Yes, but Akismet seems to do a good job filtering them out. All things considered, spam is a minor irritation, and sometimes it makes me laugh.

  6. Stan says:

    Oh no, Bock is turning to the dark side!

  7. Sean Jeating says:

    Quite, Stan.
    Re Bock the Arab I think there’s a tiny typo. Certainly it should read: […] I think I get the pint.

Leave a Reply

