A culchie joins Culch.ie

This is a short post to let my readers know that I’m now contributing to Culch.ie, Ireland’s top pop-culture group blog. The Culch.ie website has a fun, busy and bright collection of commentary on music, films, books, events, games, comedy and so on, with a broad range of contributors and a lovely community. I’m delighted to have been invited to join.

To those unfamiliar with the word culchie: it is slang for a person from outside Dublin, or beyond the Pale. It used to be widely considered derogatory, like muck savage, but has become a popular self-deprecating term (or self-depreciating, if you prefer). There is even an annual Culchie Festival that celebrates all things rural Irish.

Since “culch” can be read (or said) as short for “culture”, the website’s address is doubly apt. My first post there is about scary radiators in films. Don’t ask – but do read if you like, add a comment if you’re so inclined, and have a look around while you’re there.

4 Responses to A culchie joins Culch.ie

  1. Welcome, welcome, welcome.

  2. Stan says:

    Thanks, Dr. Manhattan.

  3. Claudia says:

    Congratulations! Interesting informations you’re giving us about your background. Will I see a photo of you à la Culchie King in the website? That would be fun. I wish you well, and I’ll certainly visit and read what’s going in Culch.ie.
    It looks fascinating.

  4. Stan says:

    Thank you for the kind wishes, Claudia! I have no idea what I will write about next, but choosing film as a subject gives me infinite options, and at the same time imposes a useful limitation. No Culchie King photo, hélas, but I plan to put a lot of my photos on another website, and I will let you know when this happens.

Leave a Reply

