The happy leaves of Galway

.

Leaf no.1 photographed on 25 June 2008.

.

Leaf no.2 photographed on 25 May 2010.

.

It makes me wonder what they’re putting in the soil around here.

16 Responses to The happy leaves of Galway

  1. Ooh I want some of what they had Stan!

    BTW I have a post that shows how useful Gaelic can be when not in Ireland

  2. Simone says:

    it won’t be the weather for sure! That said, it’s been nice the last couple of days :)

  3. Stan says:

    Jams: I don’t blame you! (And thanks for alerting me to your bilingual story.)

    Simone: Welcome! Yes, we’ve been lucky. The rapid rain–sun cycle is probably very beneficial to the local flora. If only there were more of it…

  4. MM says:

    These need to go to the Faces in Places blog!

  5. Stan says:

    Good idea, MM! I have a large folder of accidental faces in all sorts of places. I’ll keep that blog in mind when (or if) I get started on Flickr.

  6. ALiCe__M says:

    Oui, you must get started on Flickr, it’s the best place for stocking, commenting, filing, tagging and enjoying photographs(yours and people’s from all over the world).

  7. Stan says:

    Thanks Alice, I’ll try to move Flickr off the To-do list and onto the Doing list.

  8. wisewebwoman says:

    Oh the wee leafy faces
    In the Galway Races
    Leave their traces
    In the oddest places.

    XO
    WWW

  9. Claudia says:

    Do you think they’re laughing at us while they’re dancing with the breeze?

  10. Sean Jeating says:

    And when the stones are swimming, the leaves will sink.

    … Well, that was off topic. Thus: Great pics, Stan.

  11. Yvonne says:

    Just as winsome as the darling buds of May.

    I’ve got as far as having a Flickr account but have done nothing with it. You should have one Stan if you have loads of photos just lying around unsung. Still, I find Flickr’s settings a bit bothersome.

  12. Sean Jeating says:

    Hm, why would I innerly nod when reading Yvonne’s last sentence?
    ‘Last sentence’?
    It’s of course the decision of ‘Sentence First’.

  13. absurdoldbird says:

    I imagine a crowd of ants with saws, hammers and chisels all hiding behind that blade of grass on the far right (do you the the one I mean?) and waiting for you to stand still so that they can make a smiley face in the sole/s of your shoe/s.
    ;)

  14. Stan says:

    WWW: It’s true, they do — well spotted, you!

    Claudia: I’d like to think it’s a benign amusement at our endless folly.

    Sean: “When the stones are swimming, the leaves will sink” is like a Zen koan. Whatever its source (Seanhenge?), I like it.

    Yvonne: I’m at the same stage: account registered and left idle. I haven’t looked closely at Flickr’s settings yet. Another option is to start a dedicated photo blog.

    absurdoldbird: I wouldn’t put it past them, and indeed there are ants living close to where the second photo was taken.

  15. blackwatertown says:

    Surely those leaves must be the inspiration for a new children’s TV show.

    Btw – I agree with the flickr fans – it’s a handy way to go for pics.

  16. Stan says:

    blackwatertown: They could be — the possibilities are endless. Every season a new happy leaf.

Leave a Reply

