Link love: language (27)

Friday is a good day for links. Here are a few that recently caught my eye and stayed in mind.

The passive in English.

The joy of indefinite words.

Hunting the Spotted Hiybbprqag Mountweazel.

Headless compounds and the grammar of the Maple Leafs.

Good-bye, Good Luck, and Godspeed: On linguistic (de)secularisation.

An illustrated history of the pop-up book.

The QWERTY Effect: How stereo-typing shapes the mental lexicon (PDF, 434 KB).

The lost art of book editing.

Traumgedanken: a book as a model of a dream about dreaming.

How word length is related to information content.

The Macquarie Dictionary words of the year.

Leaken: German language Anglicism of the year.

The politics of language in African literature.

Is itize, –ise, or –yse?

Decoding political metaphors.

Open Language Archives Community.

All’s I know…’

[links archive]

10 Responses to Link love: language (27)

  1. Fran says:

    Nice list of sites. As a schoolteacher, marking kids’ books, I have to say that the ise/ize thing is driving me crasy.

  2. Another great selection of sites to browse. Thanks Stan

  3. Stan says:

    Fran: I can only imagine. It’s easy enough to commit a couple of exceptions to memory, but when there are so many of them in a set that defies summary or predictability, things can get tricky.

    Jams: My pleasure.

  4. wisewebwoman says:

    googleganger
    ‘goohguhlganguh’
    noun a person with the same name as oneself, whose online references are mixed with one’s own among search results for one’s name.

    Oh I loved this one, Stan, as I actually have one and we both write so it gets a little interesting as she is, let’s say, very Catholic.

    XO
    WWW

  5. Stan says:

    WWW: I bet you get some interesting accidental readers — maybe even your googleganger herself, pondering the differences.

  6. Claude says:

    So interesting. And some posts have so many comments as fascinating as the posts themselves. I learned much with The lost art of book editing.

    I’ve always loved pop-up books. They were my favourite gifts to my nephews and nieces. Often, I would buy a copy for myself. I still have a tall Castle Book, where I can see the Castle opening its door, one room at the time. Magnificent!

    There are six “CLAUDE” with my maiden name on Facebook. What protects me is that they are all males, and they have no accent (as I do) on the é following the P.

    Merci, Stan, pour tout ce que j’apprends en ta companie. À ta santé!

  7. Claude says:

    Forgot to click on the “FOLLOW-UP COMMENTS”.

    Bonne nuit! Bons rêves!

  8. Stan says:

    Et à la tienne, Claude! Mes rêves étaient colorés. I share your love of pop-up books. As a child I felt excited turning their pages, and still as an adult I find them very pleasurable. There is something about adding this dimension to books, a z-axis, that is quietly thrilling. It’s a pity they are so fragile; I remember a few I had as a child becoming damaged all too easily. Your Castle Book sounds great.

  9. Walking wicket says:

    Hello,

    I’m a copy editor and a long-time reader of the blog. Just to say keep up the great work. I particularly like the ‘link love’ posts.

  10. Stan says:

    Hello, Walking wicket, and thanks for your kind words. It’s always a pleasure to hear from people who visit this corner.

Leave a Reply

